nature’s call

Wow, it’s been a while since I’ve posted anything on here.  Looking at the last blog post date, I’ve since moved, became single, got a grad degree, traveled some, learned how to ride a bike and run, and got another job.  Lots of changes in life, sometimes with a worry as if it were a tease of things to come.  Fingers crossed for a calm though.

I suppose my free time has been immersed with triathlon-ing and health.  Lots of biking, running, and some swimming.  No bragging, but I’ve done fairly well this year.  Especially in short-course races.  Started off the year with a small win and consistently placed in top 3 in AG or Overall.  More competitive races like Vineman 70.3 are plenty humbling though, and perception of ‘fast’ quickly fades.  It’s all fun and good and games.  As of today though, I’m burned out.  I don’t feel like training for tris much, and most recently cancelled a race this weekend.  I may sign up for another race later this year, but I need a break.  So I’m hitting the trails instead.  

Aside from a good workout, there are few things inspiring of modesty as standing atop a mountain, scanning for the tiny ant path you just crawled up.  ‘Running’ becomes relative, air gets thin, appreciation for simple things grows, and you simply feel blessed.  If there’s ever a place for good worship and prayer, it’s up top, even when you’re feeling low.  

Next endeavour is less than one month away – the annual Labor Day Mt. Baldy Run-to-the-Top.  I don’t know why I signed up, but it’s different and looks fun.  I had a chance to scope out the course yesterday and realized that I have a lot of work to do 🙂  Maybe I’ll blog my progress till then.  

Summiting Mt. San Antonio (Mt. Baldy) on Aug. 4, ’13.  Great weather, but a tough climb.

Leave a Reply

